top of page
Search
  • atombcurtis

The Electric Rescue Bike


With the advice and support of Amherst fire chief Tim Nelson and EMS personnel familiar with search and rescue procedures in the Holyoke mountain range, I won grant funding to develop an ultra lightweight electric motorcycle for time-critical emergencies. I worked to make the bike as light as possible and sufficiently strong. When off-the-shelf components proved too weak, I applied my skills in SolidWorks and CNC machining to make custom parts, pushing the prototype further. Working with EMS professionals who have dedicated their careers to saving others inspired me to bring their mentality to my own work. I may not ever have the opportunity to rescue someone like an EMT, but I can design technology that creates a safer future for its users and the people and environment around it.


https://hackaday.io/project/9633-the-erb-electric-rescue-bike




4 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page